The Board

Chairo is affiliated with CEN (Christian Education National). Each CEN school is governed by a Board of Directors, with Board members being elected by and from the full members of the school association.

Board members are Christian parents with children currently attending the school, because we believe that parents need to be actively involved in the education of their children. They act on behalf of the members of the school association in relation to their legal obligations (including financial), in much the same way that the board of a company operates, although Chairo’s Board members do so in a voluntary capacity.

The most critical task for the Board is to determine the vision and mission for the school. This provides a picture of the future and guides our strategic planning, measures existing programs, determines the basis for the appointment of staff, and generally shapes all that happens at Chairo.

Chairo’s Board members are very aware of the need to separate the strategic and goal-setting functions of leadership from the day-to-day operational aspects of the school. The Board therefore establishes policies that govern the operations of the school, which are then implemented by the Executive Principal, Business Manager and other members of Chairo’s executive leadership team.

Board members are well-informed about all areas of Chairo’s operations via information provided regularly by executive staff, other members of the Chairo community, and various committees. They take their responsibility very seriously to govern wisely and to make prayerful and informed decisions from a biblical and Christian worldview perspective.

Serving on the Board Booklet

Board members

Robert Bruce

Melissa Rumble
Vice Chair

Marcus van Heijst

Louise Hood

Heath Easton
Board Member

Justin Groenewaldt
Board Member

Sam Nalder
Board Member

Simon Matthews
Executive Principal

Roger Simons
Business Manager

Board elections are held at a general meeting in November each year, with Board members generally elected to serve three-year terms. Current Board members are as follows:

Robert Bruce, Chairman

Rob is married to Jemima and they have four daughters. He works as a Network Solutions Architect (IT) and attends Winepress Church in Berwick. He was co-opted onto the Chairo Board in 2017 and then elected to serve from January 2018. Rob became Chairman of the Board in 2020.

Melissa Rumble, Vice Chair

Melissa is married to Daren and they have two sons and one daughter. She is actively involved in the life of the school in a range of ways, including as the convener of prayer groups. Melissa attends Longwarry Baptist Church and commenced serving on the Chairo Board in January 2012.

Marcus van Heijst, Treasurer

Marcus is married to Michelle and they have a daughter and two sons. He attends Hope4 Pakenham Church and is the account manager for Australian and New Zealand with a large horticultural technology company. Marcus was elected to serve on the Chairo Board from January 2019.

Louise Hood, Secretary

Louise is married to Karl (who previously served as a Chairo Board member) and they have three daughters and one son. She lives at Buln Buln and attends the Presbyterian Church in Drouin with her family. Louise first commenced serving on the Chairo Board in January 2014.

Heath Easton, Board Member

Heath is married to Melissa and they have one son and one daughter. He has bachelor degrees in Science and Theology and has been serving as a pastor at Drouin Presbyterian Church since 2012, including as Senior Pastor since 2016. Heath commenced serving on the Chairo Board in January 2021.

Justin Groenewaldt, Board Member

Justin is married to Elise and they have one son and one daughter. He previously served as Chairo’s HR Manager and now works for Back in Motion Health Group as People & Franchise Systems Champion. Justin attends CityLife Church and was elected to serve on the Chairo Board from January 2020.

Sam Nalder, Board Member

Sam is married to Lisa and they have one son and two daughters. An electrician by trade, Sam has been a firefighter with Fire Rescue Victoria since 2015. He attends Rope Factory Church in Warragul with his family and was elected to serve on the Chairo Board from January 2021.

Simon Matthews, Executive Principal

Simon is married to Veronica and they have four sons. Having served previously as CEO of Christian Schools Tasmania and State Executive Officer of Christian Education National (Tasmania), Simon commenced at Chairo in 2017. He attends Drouin Baptist Church and serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Chairo Board.

Roger Simons, Business Manager

Roger is married to Leonie and they have three daughters. He came to Chairo in July 2018 from Bayside Christian College where he was Business Manager for eight years. Roger attends Berwick Church of Christ and serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Chairo Board.

Statement of Rules

The Statement of Rules is the constitution of the Warragul and District Parent Controlled Christian School Association Incorporated, which operates Chairo Christian School. This document contains the association’s Purposes, Statement of Faith and other important information regarding how the association operates.

Statement of Rules

Governance at Chairo

As a large and complex independent school operated by a not-for-profit incorporated association, good governance is vitally important to us at Chairo Christian School. This booklet contains useful information about how Chairo is structured, who governs and how, and some ways in which members of the school community can contribute.

Governance at Chairo

Strategic Plan

Chairo has a model that guides our strategic planning. It seeks to emphasise our focus, clarify our context and identify our success factors. The Strategic Plan is set by the Board, contibuted to by the Executive Leadership Team, and communicated to the whole school community.

Strategic Plan